Safe Sport Certified

What is SafeSport?

SafeSport is the Olympic community’s initiative to recognize, reduce and respond to misconduct in sport. The six primary types of misconduct are

  • Bullying
  • Harassment
  • Hazing
  • Emotional Misconduct
  • Physical Misconduct
  • Sexual Misconduct, including Child Sexual Abuse


Why SafeSport?

Sport provides athletes with an opportunity to perform – on and off the field. Unfortunately, sport can also be a high-risk environment for misconduct and abuse. For example, studies indicate that as many as one in eight athletes will be sexually abused within their sport. Misconduct is a critical issue in sport, and one which we all need a game plan to prevent.


Who is SafeSport for?

We all play a role in reducing misconduct and abuse and sport. SafeSport provides resources for all members of the sport community – organizations, coaches, parents and athletes – to understand what misconduct is, implement ways to reduce it and identify plans to respond to it.